Follow Friday – Updated 4/30/10

Kudos to Mykl Roventine, creator of the famous “Follw Friday” (#FF) hashtag on Twitter.

Sometime in mid-January, Roventine, along with a few of his friends, decided it would be a good idea to start a hashtag that, unbeknowst to him, would turn into an international, trending-topic mega-hit.

The Follow Friday hashtag is a great, effective way to promote people you like. Besides, it’s a good deed and it’s fun to do. So why not score some good karma points and promote your favorite people on Twitter? It’s simple. It’s easy.

To continue the tradition, here’s a partial list of some of my favorite people to follow on Twitter, accompanied by a brief description of who they are.

I’m going to organize them into categories depending on what field they’re in, and I’ll add fifteen per week. Eventually this will turn into a colossal database of people worthy to follow, so check in every Friday! Cheers!

 

Music/Musicians

Friday, 4-16-10

  1. Jason Shadrick, Managing Editor of Guitar Edge Magazine @jasonshadrick
  2. Rei Nishimoto, Freelance Music Journalist & Marketing Writer @rei_nishimoto
  3. RMC, Recreational Music Center in Liberty Station @rmcsd1 
  4. Kat Fulton, Neo-Natal Intensive Care Unit Music Therapist @katfulton
  5. Hans Ongchua, Classical & Flamenco guitarist who runs a guitar student blog @hansongchua

Friday, 4-23-10

  1. Heike Matthiesen, One of Germany’s leading classical guitarists @gitarra
  2. I Heart Guitar Blog, Premier source for the latest on everything related to guitar @iheartguitar
  3. Billy Penn, Heck of a guitar player with a great sense of humor @300guitars
  4. Sarssipius,  Guitarist and Director of Muzicosphere Project @sarssipius
  5. Lucas Ferraz, Guitarist and Creator of Slash’s Army @xFerrazx

Friday, 4-30-10

  1. Martin Cliffe, Session Musician, Guitar & Bass Tutor & Session Enginner (UK), @martincliffe
  2. Diego Figueiredo, Brilliant guitarist and composer from Brazil, @DFoficial
  3. John Gregson, Professional and talented guitarist from London, @facesake
  4. Guitar Edge Magazine, Magazine that features the hottest artists and coolest gear, @guitaredge
  5. David Smolover, Founder of the prestigious National Guitar Workshop @workshoplive

    Journalism/Marketing/PR Professionals

    Friday, 4-16-10

    1. Scott Lewis, CEO of Voice of San Diego @vosdscott
    2. Jeremy Pepper, Veteran Conversational Marketer with 15+ years experience @jspepper
    3. Stephanie Thompson, PR Pro with a passion for Dance, Fine Cuisine and Music @stefaniya
    4. Ariel Hyatt, Music PR powerhouse from NYC @cyberpr 
    5. Nicole Vargas, Multimedia Producer at the San Diego Union-Tribune @nicolevargas

    Friday, 4-23-10

    1. Rachel Kay, President of Rachel Kay Public Relations. Accomplished PR Pro @rachelakay
    2. Fedor de Lange, Marketing for Disney in Amsterdam. Overall a very cool guy @fedordelange
    3. Jennifer Berson, PR Powerhouse based in Los Angeles. Very impressive woman! @JenerationPR
    4. Lucía Matthews, Hispanic Media Pioneer. PODER360° columnist & DiálogoPR Director @Dialogo360
    5. LaFamos, PR & Branding for Outstanding Musicians @lafamos 

    Friday, 4-30-10

    1. Ken Burbary, Digital Strategy and Social Media for Ernst & Young, @kenburbary 
    2. San Diego PR New Pros, Help PR newbies grow as professionals, @sdprnewpros 
    3. Berkman PR, Local and national award-winning public relations firm, @berkmanpr
    4. Gayle Falkenthal APR, PR professional and crisis expert, @prprosandiego
    5. Maura Lafferty, PR Coordinator for the New Century Chamber Orchestra in SF, @mlaffs

    Journalism/PR Students

    Friday, 4-16-10

    1. Rebecca Cicione, PR major at Rowan University @rebeccacicione
    2. Janelle Huelsman, National PRSSA Vice President of Advocacy @janellehuelsman
    3. Kion Sanders, National PRSSA Vice President of Chapter Development @kionsanders
    4. PR Student Chat, Conversation between Public Relations Students, Educators and Professionals guided by @dbreakenridge & @valeriesimon @prstudchat
    5. Lois Paula Verzosa, SDSU PRSSA Media Editor @lpverzosa

     Friday, 4-23-10

    1. Lindsey Serhan, San Diego State University Public Relations Student @lindseyserhan
    2. Rebecca Timms, National PRSSA President @rebeccatimms
    3. PRSSA National, Public Relations Student Society of America @PRSSANational
    4. Jemalyn Chavez, San Diego State University Public Relations Student @jemalyn
    5. Robin Canedy, SDSU PRSSA Vice President @rlcanedy

     Friday, 4-30-10

    1. John Saraka, San Diego State University Public Relations Student/Powerhouse @jsaraka
    2. Ivan Escobar, Ambitious and determined SDSU PRSSA Treasurer @ivnescobar
    3. Jenna Huskinson, PRSSA National VP of Regional Activities, @jennahuskinson
    4. Christa Cassata, Aviation & sports enthusiast PR student in Texas, @christacassata
    5. Evan Roberts, Ohio Northern University PR student and PRSSA webmaster, @erob1

     

     



    2 thoughts on “Follow Friday – Updated 4/30/10”